Hurth transmission maintenance
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Stolat

USA
595 Posts

Posted - Jun 03 2009 :  20:36:26  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey all,

I'm a newbie to inboards here. So far from a handling perspective I think they're great!!! I'm just trying to be proactive here and find out from anyones personal experience what type of maintenance is involved with the transmissions. I hear they are extremely expensive to replace and want to make sure that I take proper care of them so they last a long time. The boat is a 93 330 Sundancer powered with twin carbeurated 454's. Its an aft cabin boat hence the transmissions are V-drives. Thanks in advance.

--Steve

Morgan Rose
1993 330 Sea Ray Sundancer
Patchogue, N.Y.

CurrentSea

USA
12411 Posts

Posted - Jun 03 2009 :  22:48:26  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Check your nuts are torqued.
Thats all I know so far!

2009 Regal 4080
Volvo Diesel IPS

Edited by - CurrentSea on Jun 03 2009 22:48:44
Go to Top of Page

Stolat

USA
595 Posts

Posted - Jun 04 2009 :  20:22:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks Dave

Morgan Rose
Patchogue, N.Y.
Go to Top of Page

Billylll

USA
19035 Posts

Posted - Jun 04 2009 :  21:56:58  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Check the fluid levels periodically. Even know I put 2 new Walter V drives in my boat one kept losing fluid it ended up being a damaged seal that occurred during the re-power. Yes make sure your shaft flange and transmission flang bolts are tight. In my case I have 2 warning lights to make sure I have proper water flow through the drives. The lights are only on at idle. My V drives and transmissions are separate units.
Bill

WIRELESS ONE,
36 Gulfstar
Trawler
Little Egg, N.J.
Go to Top of Page

Double D

USA
10920 Posts

Posted - Jun 04 2009 :  22:25:26  Show Profile  Reply with Quote